Violin and piano recital
23rd October 2019
7:30 pm
Lauderdale House
Google Map

Evening recital comprising of music for violin and piano by Mathieu Crickboom (1871-1947) and his contemporaries.


E. Ysaÿe. Sonata No. 5

M. Crickboom. Pres du berceau

M. Crickboom. Esquisses Op. 1

E. Chausson. Pièce

M. Crickboom. Doux


M. Crickboom. Ballade

M. Crickboom. Romance

E. Granados. Sonata

M. Crickboom. Sonata

The recital is based around the relatively unknown composer Mathieu Crickboom. He is the dedicatee of Ysaÿe’s sonata number 5, with which we open the recital. A colleague and friend of Ysaÿe, Chausson, Debussy, d’Indy amongst others, Crickboom dedicated his Esquisses Op. 1 to Chausson. We also include Chausson’s rarely performed “Pièce”. Crickboom’s unpublished work “Doux”, Ballade, Romance, and Sonata, as well as Granados’s sonata conclude the recital. 

Mathieu Crickboom (1871-1947) was a Belgian violinist, composer and pedagogue. Concert violinist, chamber musician (who have played second violin in Ysaÿe String Quartet – premiered Debussy’s string quartet; set up his own Crickboom String Quartet – premiered Chausson’s concert for violin, piano and string quartet; played trio with Enrique Granados and Pablo Casals), orchestral leader – at La Monnaie in Brussels, composer, editor of music, pedagogue – extensive list of students and several violin treatises, concert series organiser (he was in charge of Catalan Philharmonic society for 9 seasons), artistic director and contributor to the music magazine La Tribune Musicale in Brussels.